Hey all, sorry about the late post tonight. Unfortunately the little one picked up the blessing of father Nurgle at daycare so hobby time has been pretty limited. I’ve also decided that instead of waiting to write this article Wednesday night, I need to write it Tuesday and publish it Wednesday morning before work. I know quite a lot of you are from across the pond and by the time I get it published most of you are already asleep.

This week I’ve put the orks on the back burner for the time being. Seeing so many of you posting up pictures of the amazing jobs you all are doing on your Blood Angels made me want to finish up some units that I only had half done.

bench125unit

This here is a little unit I sometimes run. While expensive it’s durable and packs a helluva punch. It consists of Mephiston (I’ve also run it with a Libby in Terminator Armor), 5 Hammernators and a LR Crusader. Sometimes I’ll add a Sanguinary Priest to this unit depending on what the rest of the list consists of. (And yes, the background is the ruins finished up from last week’s post!)

bench125meph.jpg

Not much to talk about here. I built him, primed him but never put any paint on the Lord of Death yet. The little bit of clipped sprue is what I use for rubble on my bases. I’ll prime it and paint it with the same method I did with those ruins. With the astrogranite texture around it it really pulls the base together and makes for a nice, simple base.

bench125lrcrusader.jpg

I’ve only played a handful of games using the Crusader variant. I originally wanted to use a Redeemer for those sexy flamestorm cannons. Unfortunately I also wanted it to tote around a mini-star so I had to go with the Crusader for the extra transport capacity. The assault cannon and multi-melta add on are nice, but I’m not, nor ever have been sold on Hurricane Bolters. Bolters do very little against the targets I usually send this unit against. It’s hard to tell from the picture but the red is too light and it doesn’t look cohesive with the darker shade of red I have on the rest of my Blood Angels. This was my first run with the Mephiston Red Citadel spray. Based it with black and hit it with 2 coats of the Mephiston spray. Going to his this with a coat or or two using the airbrush to darken it up before doing the detail work on it. Would love to get some FW Blood Angels doors to put on it, but I’ll have to save that for the next one.

bench125term2bench125term3bench125term1

These gentlemen are just about finished up. Little more detailing to do on them before finishing the bases, but overall I’m very happy with the way they came out. Still debating about adding some glow and energy arcs on the Thunder Hammers, but for now I’m going to leave them. Four of them have the old resin, Imperial bases on them. I had them floating around in one of my drawers so I figured what the hell.

Depending on what kind of free time I hope to finish this unit up through the rest of the week and the weekend. As for next week, I’m going to be a nice big brother and built and paint up a Talos Pain Engine for my sister’s Dark Eldar. Honestly though, it’s more for me than her. Always wanted to paint up a Talos.

What’s on your bench this week? What have you been working on? Leave a comment and let me know!

Leave a Reply

