Forces of Gru – “Me and Bobby G”

Hey all, Gru here with a list idea that I threw together this week. First off, going to put a little disclaimer here. I don’t play “competitively” in the most common use of the term in our hobby. I don’t play GTs or travel for competitive tournaments. So the lists I build are not solely built for efficiency and power. My two main armies are Orks and Blood Angels, so that should tell you all you need to know about what kind of player I am. The lists I’ll put on here are lists that I think would be fun to play. Within my gaming group, nobody plays any ridiculous net lists, however I do regularly square off against Space Marines, Necrons, Eldar (Now Ynnari… thanks Fracture of Biel-tan) so when it comes to the raw strength of an army I’m definitely playing a bit on hard mode. Which I enjoy, I love the challenge and I love being the underdog. I also like playing fluffy lists. In fact, I only try to play fluffy lists. In fact, if you don’t already follow a twitter buddy of mine, Tibbs and his Chapter Approved podcast. In one of his early episodes discusses the topic of casual gaming and it’s something that I very much relate to. (You can find that episode here.)

So when Gathering Storm 3 and the Triumvirate of the Primarch launched I immediately picked it up. It wasn’t just because it was the first loyalist primarch in 40k, but we got an updated model for one of my favorite characters in the 40k lore… Cypher. A genetically modified gunslinger in bad ass armor with a beat up old cloak. Deal me in. I enjoyed the story through all three Gathering Storm books, I love that GW is finally advancing the narrative. About time to pump some fresh blood into the narrative. My favorite part of Gathering Storm 3 was… SPOILER ALERT when the Ultramarines, Fallen and Aeldari come out of the webway onto the moon and have a big old shooting fight with Magnus and the Thousand Sons. I wanted to build a list that uses Cypher and Fallen. Thanks to the book we did get a formation that lets us do so, but it’s not nearly enough to fill out a full list. Which honestly, it fits. The fallen aren’t rolling in force in Rhinos and pods. Squads come out of the shadows and ambush. Pefect, I started with that. Next I wanted to have Guilliman in the list, since Cypher and the Fallen busted him out of prison and basically were a skirmisher element for his Ultramarines I saw my fluff list come to fruition. Here it is…

Me and Bobby G” – 1850 pts

Ultramarine Victrix Strike Force

Core – Battle Demi Company

Leader – Captain w/ Storm Bolter and Relic Blade

Fast Unit – Bike squad – x2 Meltagun, Sgt w/ combi melta and melta bombs

Heavy Unit – Devastator squad – x4 Missile Launcher w/ Flakk Missiles, Sgt w/ Boltgun and Signum

Tactical Squad – Rhino, Sgt w/ Combi Grav, x4 Marines, Marine w/ Plasma gun

Tactical Squad – Rhino, Sgt w/ Combi Plasma, x5 Marines, Marine w/Plasma gun

Tactical Squad – Rhino, Sgt w/ Boltgun, x5 Marines, Marine w/ Plasma Gun

Command – Roboute Guilliman

Auxiliary – Formation: Suppression Force

Land Speeder w/ Heavy Bolter, Heavy Flamer

x2 Whirlwinds

Fallen Champions Formation

Cypher

Fallen – Fallen Champ w/ Bolter, CCW, Plasma Pistol, x2 Fallen, x2 Fallen w/ Plasma gun

Fallen – Fallen Champ w/Bolter, Bolt Pistol, Power fist, x2 Fallen, x2 Fallen w/ Meltagun

I haven’t had a chance to play the list yet due to lack of time to play, but in the near future I hope to get some playtest games in with it. The UM Demi company is pretty straightforward, I see flyers often which is why I went with the 4 MLs and Flakk. And because the special UM formation all the infantry models get ObSec. So Bikers and tacticals in the rhinos are for grabbing/holding objectives. I’ve never played the Suppression Force but I love the fluffiness of the Landspeeder targeting for the whirldwinds who don’t need LoS and have rerolls to hit and infinite range because of it.

Where this list is going to be fun is with Cypher and his Fallen. They will infiltrate, depending on whether I’m deploying first or second will determine whether I infiltrate them or outflank them. Either way, it’s for a nifty threat in my opponents backfield. My goal with the list is to make my opponent have to decide whether to focus on Guilliman advancing or the Fallen shooting up their backfield. All while the the Demi Company maneuvers about playing to the mission while Whirlwinds drop artillery around the board.

I’m looking forward to giving this one a go, when I do I’ll post the battle reports and let you all know how it worked out. Feel free to comment and if you don’t already give me a follow on twitter @GruofGrimDark.

Author: gruofthegrimdark

A home for all my ramblings, pictures and battle reports from the hobby universe of Warhammer 40k!

Leave a Reply

